• palicoffee

SCA Sustainability Award Winners 2019

Photo by Singkham from Pexels

The coffee industry is paying more attention to sustainability, the Specialty Coffee Association (SCA) is bestowing rewards to contributors who deliver outstanding work in the field of sustainability in the coffee industry every year. There are three categories for the reward, Project Award, Business Model Award and Sustainability Champion Award (for individual).

Congratulations winners of the awards this year:

Sustainability Champion: Esperanza Dionisio Castillo

Project: “Mainstreaming biodiversity conservation and climate resilience at Yayu Biosphere Reserve” by Union Hand-Roasted Coffee

Business Model: Agricafe

In this article, we are focusing on the new award added this year, the Sustainability Champion award and the winner, Esperanza Dionisio Castillo. The Sustainability Champion Award is added this year aiming at recognizing the work and impact of an individual. This year winner Esperanza Dionisio Castillo, who as an agronomist by profession from Peru was born in Jauja. She entered the coffee industry in 1977 and leaded Pangoa as cooperative’s Manager since 1997, under her management, Pangoa, the local coffee cooperative became a leading organization at national level holding Organic, Fair-trade, and Bird Friendly certifications. They are doing great contribution to the social, environmental and economic development of their members and collaborators.


23 views0 comments